Every cat has its own special personality quirks. Tripps has many interesting habits other than his feeding ritual and dislike of other animals.

Tripps loves to play tag. Because the downstairs of the layout he has ample opportunity to jump out and tag us, or scare the he** out of us.  It’s bad enough if you know you are playing, he is a sneaky rascal. But if he decides the game is on and you aren’t aware it can be a bit frightening to have a huge cat jump out at your ankles.  We can read the signs, he will crouch down and his tail will very slowly sway back and forth. When his prey gets closer, his tail stops moving and his butt starts to twitch. Sometimes we warn the victim, other times it’s more fun to sit back and watch.

When we got Tripps he didn’t actually meow. He made a sound that sounded more like a chrip. Just before he jumps up on he gives a soft chirp. He meows now, lots now if he thinks we have all gone out. He also meows if he is looking for some one in particular.

I remember one evening looking for Tripps, he had been M.I.A. for a few hours. I searched high and low, there was trace of him. I went on a more thorough search for him. I thought maybe he had gotten shut into a closet or something. As I was checking in my bedroom I heard him chirp. We all know most cats are happy to jump up on a bed and take a nap, not Tripps. He has figured out how to crawl up under the duvet.  We have to check the lumps on the bed before we sit down. More than once we have sat down on the bed only to jump back up when we realize Tripps is there.

A purses and backpacks are items which must always be zipped, they are a huge curiosity for Tripps. If he finds any open he crawls in a goes to sleep. Many visitors have been surprised to discover a stow away when to try to leave.

The best treat you can give Tripps is a box. It doesn’t matter how big or small he will make it into a bed. I admit, I like to see him try to get into cereal boxes. I thought cats whiskers were indicators that told them if they would fit in areas. Either I am greatly mistaken or Tripps’ are defective.

Oh! Did you need this box? Too bad!!

 

I can too fit, I'm not that fat.

My hubby, (the guy who doesn’t like pets), made Tripps a scratching post. I refer to it as abstract art. It is over six feet high. We tell people not to play with Tripps when he is on it, unless they want to donate blood.  He plays rough when he is on it.

I worked for the Red Cross in my last life.

I don’t want you to think my cat is a mean cat. He really isn’t. Tripps is probably the most laid-back cat I have ever seen.

Tripps au natural

He is always gentle with any children who visit. He is definitely the politest. He never tries to take food, even when children are not paying attention and waving it in front of him. He can be wore as a scarf and he just lays there.

