We found out quickly Tripps really didn’t like other cats. What I didn’t realize was this extended to all other animals.

I have a love seat in front of a picture window. That is Tripps’ spot. When Tripps first arrived we had heavy curtains blocking his view. The day we were changing the curtains, we moved the furniture away from the window. As we moved back to see how the new sheer curtains looked, a huge pigeon landed on the bird feeder hanging outside the window. Before we could do anything Tripps rocketed from across the room, using the back of the love seat launched himself into the window. We were so shocked. After ensuring Tripps was alright, we began to laugh so hard. An inspection of the window confirmed it hadn’t broken. The force of his attack was so fierce I expected the window to have cracked.

Tripps in "His Spot"

Tripps loves having a view of the outside. He lays there endlessly surveying his property. He has learned to tolerate the birds that visit the feeder. He still gets upset about the pigeons, his tail twitches whenever they land.

I spy with my little eye......

It is his response when a stray cat wanders down the street that is unnerving. He will be sitting quietly, until he spots another cat. His tail will start to twitch, as the stray gets closer to the house, the twitches become faster. If his adversary walks on the sidewalk in front of our house, a low-pitched growl emerges from deep within him. Tripps was a very quiet cat, he rarely meowed. The first time I heard this intimidating growl I was unnerved. I knew he was focused on something outside, so I tried to look out the window to see what was upsetting him. I couldn’t see anything. It wasn’t until I went outside that I saw the other cat.

 Our neighbours got a dog Tripps’ first spring with me. Phyllis is a very friendly German Shepard. When she is outside Tripps watches her constantly. Tripps has learned to accepts that Phyllis will sometimes be on our sidewalk and in the yard. But he draws the line at Phyllis getting up on our porch. Tripps definitely doesn’t like Phyllis looking in the window, he will growl and bat at Phyllis’ nose. Thank God for the window. Phyllis has a cat at her house and doesn’t realize Tripps is not kidding.

My older son, who has his own place, got a dog. Teagan is a setter mix. He is also dumber than paste. When Teagan visits we must lock Tripps in the back room. One day I came home my son and Teagan were here. Tripps had been locked in the back room. My son went upstairs to see his brother. As I sat in the living room, I noticed movement out of the corner of my eye. Tripps had gotten out. He had slowly walked into the living room, staying close to the walls. I grabbed Teagan by the collar. Thats when Teagan saw Tripps. Teagan began pulling to get to Tripps. I held tight. That’s when I heard the now familiar growl. Tripps began to approach slowly and steadily. I yelled for my son to help. He ran downstairs to see what was going on. I put myself between the animals. My son was shocked at the sounds coming from Tripps. He was afraid to pick him up and put him in the back room. Teagan was still trying to see the cat, unaware that playing was the last thing on Tripps’ mind. My son took charge of Teagan, I put Tripps into my room.

Teagan

I am convinced Tripps had been stalking Teagan. I know if I hadn’t been there Teagan would have been seriously injured. I tell people Tripps doesn’t play well with others, he plays for keeps.

We have a rule in our house, “We don’t bring our cat to your home, don’t bring your pet to ours!”

